Technical Advisors

Technical Advisors serve under the association’s board of directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

 

 

AIR QUALITY

David Gilkey, PhD, 
Assoicate Professor, Colorado State University, Ft. Collins, CO.
Email: dgilkey@colostate.edu 

 

AQUATIC VENUES/RECREATIONAL HEALTH

Tracynda Davis, MPH
President, Davis Strategic Consulting, LLC, Colorado Springs, CO.
E-mail: tracynda@gmail.com

CDR Jasen Kunz, MPH, REHS, USPHS
CDC/NCEH, Sugar Hill, GA.
Email: izk0@cdc.gov

 

CHILDREN'S ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

Anna Jeng, MS, ScD, 
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA.
Email: hjeng@odu.edu

 

CLIMATE CHANGE

Leon Vinci, DHA, RS,
Founder & CEO, Health Promotion Consultants, Roanoke, VA.
Emai: lfv6@aol.com

 

DRINKING WATER/ENVIRONMENTAL WATER QUALITY

Sharon Smith, REHS/RS
Sanitarian Supervisor, Minnesota Dept. of Health, Underwood, MN.
E-mail: sharon.l.smith@state.mn.us

 

EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE

Marcy Barnett, MA, MS, REHS
Emergency Preparedness Liaison, California Dept. of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health, Sacramento, CA.
Email: marcy.barnett@cdph.ca.gov

Martin A. Kalis
Public Health Advisor, CDC, Atlanta, GA.
E-mail: mkalis@cdc.gov 

 

FOOD SAFETY AND DEFENSE

Eric Bradley, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS
Environmental Health Coordinator, Scott County Health Dept., Davenport, IA, 
E-mail: Eric.Bradley@scottcountyiowa.com

John A. Marcello, CP-FS, REHS, 
Regional Retail Food Specialist, FDA, Tempe, AZ.
E-mail: john.marcello@fda.hhs.gov

 

GENERAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

Tara Gurge 
Environmental Health Agent, Needham Health Dept., Needham, MA.
Email: tgurge@needhamma.gov

ML Tanner, HHS, 
Former Program Manager, Swansea, SC.
Email: mlacesmom@gmail.com

 

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS/TOXIC SUBSTANCES

Sarah Keyes, MS, 
Health, Safety, and Environmental Manager, Peter Cremer North America, LP, Cold Spring, KY.
Email: skeyes@petercremerna.com

Crispin Pierce, PhD
Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Eau Claire, WI.
Email: piercech@uwec.edu

Stew Whitney
Waste Program Supervisor, Ottawa County Health Dept., Holland, MI.
Email: swhitney@miottawa.org

 

HEALTHY COMMUNITIES / BUILT ENVIRONMENT

Vacant

 

HEALTHY HOMES AND HOUSING

Judeth Luong
Program Manager, City of Long Beach Health Dept., Fountain Valley, CA.
Email: Judeth.Luong@longbeach.gov

Ruth Ann Norton,
President & CEO, Green & Healthy Homes Initiative, Baltimore, MD.
Email: ranorton@ghhi.org

 

INFORMATICS AND TECHNOLOGY

Darryl Booth, MPA
President / General Manager Environmental Health, Accela, Fresno, CA.
E-mail: dbooth@accela.com

 

INJURY PREVENTION

Alan Dellapenna, RS,  
Branch Head, Injury and Violence Prevention Branch, North Carolina Division of Public Health, Raleigh, NC.
Email: alan.dellapenna@dhhs.nc.gov

 

INSTITUTIONS

Robert W. Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS, DLAAS
Principal Consultant, R.W. Powitz & Associates, PC, Old Saybrook, CT.
Email: powitz@sanitarian.com

 

INTERNATIONAL ENIVORNMENTAL HEALTH

Sylvanus Thompson, PhD, CPHI (C)
Associate Director, Toronto Public Health, Toronto, ON, Canada.
Email: sthomps@toronto.ca

 

LAND USE PLANNING AND DESIGN

Robert Washam, MPH, RS
Jensen Beach, FL. 
Email: b_washam@hotmail.com

 

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH / SAFETY

Tracy Zontek, PhD
Assistant Professor, Environmental Health Program, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC.
Email: zontek@email.wcu.edu

 

ONSITE WASTEWATER

Joelle Wirth, RS, 
Program Manager II, Environmental Quality Division, Coconino County Health Dept., Flagstaff, AZ.
Email: jwirth@coconino.az.gov

Denise Wright
Training Officer, Indiana State Dept. of Health, Indianapolis, IN.
Email: dhwright@isdh.in.gov

 

RADIATION/RADON

Bob Uhrik
Senior REHS, South Brunswick Township, Monmouth Junction, NJ.
Email: ruhrik@sbtnj.net

 

RISK ASSESSMENT

Jason Marion, PhD, 
Assistant Professor, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, KY.
Email: jason.marion@eku.edu

Kari Sasportas, MPH, REHS/RS
Environmental Health Specialist, Cambridge Public Health Dept., Cambridge, MA.
Email: ksasportas@challiance.org

 

SCHOOLS

Stephan Ruckman
Environmental Health Manager, Worthington City Schools, Dublin, OH.
E-mail: mphosu@yahoo.com

 

SUSTAINABILITY

Timothy Murphy, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS, 
Associate Professor and Dept. Chair, The University of Findlay, Findlay, OH.
E-mail: murphy@findlay.edu

 

VECTOR CONTROL & ZOONOTIC DISEASES

Zia Siddiqi, PhD, BCE
Director of Quality Systems, Orkin/Rollins Pest Control, Atlanta, GA.
E-mail: zsiddiqi@rollins.com

 

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT, MANAGEMENT, AND LEADERSHIP

CAPT Michael E. Herring, MPH, REHS, USPHS (ret.)
Surf City, NC.
E-mail: captmike@hotmail.com

George Nakamura, MPA, REHS/RS, CP-FS, DAAS
CEO, Nakamura Leasing, Sunny Vale, CA.
E-mail: gmlnaka@comcast.net