Technical Advisors

2018 - 2019 Technical Advisors

Technical Advisors serve under the association’s board of directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

Air Quality  

David Gilkey, PhD
Colorado State University
E-mail: dgilkey@colostate.edu

Aquatic Health / Recreational Health

CDR Jasen Kunz, MPH, REHS, USPHS
CDC/NCEH
E-mail: izk0@cdc.gov

Cannabis

Cindy Rice, RS, CPFS, MSPH, CEHT
Eastern Food Safety

Children's Environmental Health

Cynthia McOliver, PhD, MPH, BS
United States Environmental Protection Agency     

Climate Change 

Richard Valentine
Salt Lake County Health Department
E-mail: rvalentine@slco.org

Drinking Water

Craig Gilbertson
Minnesota Department of Health
E-mail: craig.gilbertson@state.mn.us

Emergency Preparedness And Response

Marcy Barnett, MA, MS, REHS
California Department of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health
E-mail: marcy.barnett@cdph.ca.gov

Martin A. Kalis
CDC
E-mail: mkalis@cdc.gov 

Food & Emergencies

Michele DiMaggio, REHS 
Contra Costa Environmental Health

Food (including Safety and Defense)

Eric Bradley, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS
Scott County Health Department
E-mail: Eric.Bradley@scottcountyiowa.com

John A. Marcello, CP-FS, REHS, 
FDA, Tempe, AZ.
E-mail: john.marcello@fda.hhs.gov

General Environmental Health

Tara Gurge 
Needham Health Department 
Email: tgurge@needhamma.gov

Timothy Murphy, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS
The University of Findlay
E-mail: murphy@findlay.edu

Global Environmental Health

Crispin Pierce, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
E-mail: piercech@uwec.edu

Government Representative

Timothy Callahan
Georgia Department of Public Health

Industry

Nicole Grisham
University of Colorado
E-mail: nicole.grisham@colorado.edu

Information and Technology

Darryl Booth, MPA
Accela
E-mail: dbooth@accela.com

Injury Prevention 

Alan Dellapenna, RS
North Carolina Division of Public Health
E-mail: alan.dellapenna@dhhs.nc.gov

Institutions

Robert W. Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS
R.W. Powitz & Associates, PC
E-mail: powitz@sanitarian.com

International/Global Environmental Health

Sylvanus Thompson, PhD, CPHI (C)
Toronto Public Health, Toronto
E-mail: sthomps@toronto.ca

Land Use Planning and Design/Built Environments

Robert Washam, MPH, RS
Jensen Beach, FL. 
E-mail: b_washam@hotmail.com

Kari Sasportas, MSW, MPH, REHS/RS
Cambridge Public Health Department
E-mail: ksasportas@challiance.org

Leadership

Robert Custard, REHS, CP-FS 
Environmental Health Leadership Partners, LLC          

Onsite Wastewater

Sara Simmonds
Kent County Health Department
E-mail: sara.simmonds@kentcountymi.gov

Premise Plumbing

Andrew Pappas, MPH
Indiana State Department of Health

Uniformed Services

Welford Roberts, MS, PhD, RS, REHS, DAAS 
Edaptive Computing Inc.         

Vector Control / Zoonotic Diseases

Christine Vanover, MPH, REHS
CDC NCEH/ATSDR  
Email: npi8@cdc.gov

Tyler Zerwekh, MPH, DrPH, REHS
Shelby County Health Department
E-mail: tyler.zerwekh@shelbycountytn.gov

Water Quality

Maureen Pepper
Drinking Water Program, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
E-mail: maureen.pepper@deq.idaho.gov

Women's Issues

Michele Samarya-Timm, MA, HO, MCHES, REHS, DLAAS
Somerset County Department of Health